DESCRIBE A JOB AT A DEPARTMENT STORE

This is an English lesson where an employee describes a job they do at a department store.

You might be asked to describe the job you do for a TOEFL or IELTS talk for one or two minutes.

The content of this lesson can easily be adapted for that purpose.

The keywords of the lesson are highlighted.

This is the text of the lesson.

 

Hello everyone, my name is Chris.

I am a retail assistant in a famous department store.

You can see I am wearing a uniform.

Can you guess the name of the department store?

The store is located in the shopping mall outside of the city.

I work in the Footwear Department.

The department is located on the third floor.

You can get to the Footwear Department easily by escalator or elevator.

Restrooms are located on the same floor near to the cashier desk.

In the Footwear department, we sell shoes, boots, sandals and trainers.

Sports equipment is sold in the department next to the Footwear Department.

The store is open seven days a week (except public holidays).

Opening times are from ten in the morning until eight in the evening.

I work there five days each week.

My two days off are rotated and organized by the Staff Manager.

I have worked for the department store for nearly two years now.

It’s a tiring job, standing a lot  but I enjoy my job very much and the challenge it presents.

That’s all about me and my job.

Thank you for listening to my presentation.

Leave a Reply

