DESCRIBE MILESTONES IN YOUR LIFE

This is a two minute talk for IELTS or TOEFL to talk about Milestones to  be reached in your life.

The keyword vocabulary of the text is highlighted.

This is the text.

There are many milestones which will be reached during my life.

What are milestones anyway?

Well, they are markers of special things I will personally achieve.

As an infant, I have learnt to walk and talk, to read and write, to swim and to ride a bicycle.

As I got older, I became a scout and learnt survival skills allied with a growing sense of independence.

I could run an errand to the corner shop for my mother, take the bus to school on my own.

i could enter competitions to win prizes and trophies in sport, for singing and creating things.

It will certainly be a milestone when I graduate through the various stages of school and then University, then get my first job.

I will open my first Bank Account and do a sleepover at a friends house.

But I think it will be important to add to my experience of life by travelling overseas before deciding on a degree to study.

That might mean getting a part-time job to finance such a trip or using my initiative to fund-raise another way.

Sooner or later, i will learn to drive, pass the driving test and buy my first car.

Beyond that, i will move out from my parents home.

When the time is right, I will look for promotion in my career.

By then, I will probably be ready to settle down with a partner, start a family and buy my first house.

As i reach each milestone, I am gaining important experience of life and wisdom to make the right decisions life demands of me.

As time goes by, I will have flown on an aeroplane to a faraway destination, perhaps even on a rocket to the moon.

I will have met someone famous.

I will have sat in a rocking chair and found time to understand life and people better.

I will have done someone a good deed and be remembered for it.

I will have made a pilgrimage.

I will have done at least some, if not all, of the things on the imaginary bucket list.

Eventually, I accept that it will be time to retire from work and take it easy in my final yearts.

If there are finaL milestones, then they are surely to share with others the joy of having grandchildren and, being permitted the grace to rest in peace.

It is said that milestones are road markers and all roads lead to Rome.  In fact they do.

Milestones indeed.  Such as they are.

 

Leave a Reply

