PAST SIMPLE AND PRESENT PERFECT SENTENCES

This is an English language lesson to practice sentence speaking and writing in the past simple, present perfect and present perfect continuous.

There are thirty short sentences in the exercise.

Sentences are written in groups of three to be one sentence for each of the three tenses.

Sentence 1 – past simple

Sentence 2 – present perfect

Sentence 3 – present perfect continuous

You should practice both writing and speaking all of the sentences.

This is our model example:

I lived in Japan                                    (past simple)

I have lived in Japan                           (present perfect)

I have been living in Japan                (present perfect continuous)

So here goes:

  1. I did my home work

 

  1. I have done my homework

 

  1. I have been doing my homework

 

  1. I slept for a long time

 

  1. I have slept for a long time

 

  1. I have been sleeping for a long time

 

  1. I took a shower

 

  1. I have taken a shower

 

  1. I have been taking a shower

 

  1. I washed the car

 

  1. I have washed the car

 

  1. I have been washing the car

 

  1. I studied English at school

 

  1. I have studied English at school

 

  1. i have been studying English at school

 

  1. I watched television

 

  1. I have watched television

 

  1. i have been watching television

 

  1. I spent too much money

 

  1. I have spent too much money

 

  1. I have been spending too much money

 

  1. i dreamnt about you

 

  1. I have dreamnt about you

 

  1. I have been dreaming about you

 

  1. She expected you to call

 

  1. She has expected you to call

 

  1. She has been expecting you to call

 

  1. The animals escaped from the zoo

 

  1. The animals have escaped from the zoo

 

  1. The animals have been escaping from the zoo

 

NOTE

All the thirty sentences are written in the first person

Good luck with your English sentence practice.

Leave a Reply

