INTRODUCTION TO PRESENT SUBJUNCTIVE FOR ENGLISH

This is an English language lesson to practice using the Present Subjunctive.

The Present Subjunctive is used to express importance and necessity.

It can also be used for exclamation.

Rest in Peace!

Bless you!

Excuse me!

God save the King!

Come on!

Heaven forbid!

Perish the thought!

Never say die!

Live and Let Live!

Do it or else!

This lesson is an introduction to the present subjunctive.  There will be a parallel lesson which explains and shows the different types of subjunctive sentences.

There are thirty sentences for this lesson.  Each sentence provides an example of the structure and use of the present subjunctive.

Sentences written in the odd number are written strictly in present subjunctive.

Those sentences written in the even number following the odd number are written using the modal verb ‘should’.

Do NOT confuse present subjunctive with present simple or present perfect.

Do NOT confuse present subjunctive with past subjunctive (If I were, As it were).

Practice the sentences orally and by writing from memory to regularly test your comprehension.  This is very important to build up your vocabulary and fluency.

The relative pronoun ‘that’ is used in all the sentences but it can be omitted.

The structure of the sentences are mixed for the ‘first person’ (I) and the ‘impersonal’ (It is ..)

All of the sentences written in the first person can be re-written in the ‘third person’ (he or she) or in the plural (we or they).

  1. I recommend that you visit the doctor

 

  1. I recommend that you should visit the doctor

 

  1. I suggest that your brother do his homework

 

  1. I suggest that your brother should do his homework

 

  1. It is important that you learn English

 

  1. It is important that you should learn English

 

  1. I request that you come with me

 

  1. I request that you should come with me

 

  1. It is imperative that you arrive on time

 

  1. It is imperative that you should arrive on time

 

  1. It is essential that you revise for the school test

 

  1. It is essential that you should revise for the school test

 

  1. I propose that we meet at the cinema

 

  1. I propose that we should meet at the cinema

 

  1. I desire that we go on holiday

 

  1. I desire that we should go on holiday

 

  1. It is desirable that you dress appropriately

 

  1. It is desirable that you should dress appropriately

 

  1. It is necessary that you bring your passport

 

  1. It is necessary that you should bring your passport

 

  1. I insist that you stop clicking the pen

 

  1. I insist that you should stop clicking the pen

 

  1. It is vital that you clean your teeth daily

 

  1. It is vital that you should clean your teeth daily

 

  1. I advise that you postpone the trip

 

  1. I advise that you should postpone the trip

 

  1. I demand that you settle the debt within seven days

 

  1. I demand that you should settle the debt within seven days

 

  1. It is crucial that you listen to the advice given

 

  1. it is crucial that you should listen to the advice given

 

Good luck with your English speaking!

Leave a Reply

