CAUSE AND EFFECT – SECOND CONDITIONAL FOR REGRET AND FAULT

This is an English language lesson to practice using the Second Conditional with Should Have, Shouldn’t Have and I Wish.

Sentences are split into five sections.  Sentences in each part are identified with brackets as to the type of sentence.

Practice writing and speaking the following sentences to identify regret and blame/fault and the use of second conditional.

Here goes.

PART ONE

1.      The room was very dirty (effect)

2.     I didn’t clean the room (cause)

3.       The room was very dirty because I didn’t clean it (cause and effect)

4.      I wish I had cleaned the room (expressing regret)

5.    I should have cleaned the room (blame, fault)

6.     I shouldn’t have left the room dirty (blame, fault)

7.    If I had cleaned the room, it wouldn’t have been dirty (second conditional)

8.  I could have cleaned the room and it would not have been dirty (second conditional)

 

PART TWO

  1.   I was late for school (effect)
  2. . I didn’t wake up on time (cause)
  3.   I was late for school because I didn’t wake up on time (cause and effect)
  4. . I didn’t wake up on time because the alarm clock is broken (cause and effect)
  5.   I wish I had woken up on time (expressing regret)
  6.   I should have woken up on time (fault)
  7.   I should have arrived on time for school (fault)
  8.   I shouldn’t have been late for school (fault)
  9.   If I had woken up on time, then I wouldn’t have been late for school (second conditional)
  10.   If the alarm clock was not broken, I would have woken up on time (second conditional)
  11.   I could have woken up on time and then I would not have been late for school (possible with second conditional)

PART THREE

  1.   I am blind (cause)
  2.   I cannot see (effect)
  3.   I cannot see because I am blind (cause and effect)
  4.   I am blind because I had an accident (cause and effect
  5.   I wish I could see (expressing regret)
  6.   I wish I was not blind (expressing regret)
  7.   I should have been more careful (blame/fault)
  8.   I shouldn’t have been so careless (blame/fault)
  9.   If I wasn’t blind, then I would be able to see (second conditional)
  10.   If I could see, I wouldn’t be blind (this is first conditional)
  11.   If I had not been blinded, I would have been able to see (second conditional)
  12.   If I had not had an accident, then I would not have been blinded

PART FOUR

1. The food I ate was too spicy (cause)

2. I got sick (effect)

3.  I got sick because the food I ate was too spicy (cause and effect)

4.  I wish the food I ate had not been so spicy (expressing regret)

5.  I wish I had not eaten the spicy food (expressing regret)

6.  I wish I had not gotten sick from the food I ate (expressing regret)

7.  I should have eaten less spicy food (fault)

8.  I should not have eaten such spicy food (fault)

9.  If I had not eaten spicy food, I wouldn’t have gotten sick (second conditional)

 

PART FIVE 

  1. The girl cried (effect)
  2. The girl was hungry (cause)
  3. The girl cried because she was hungry (cause and effect)
  4. She was hungry because she had not eaten for a long time (cause and effect)
  5. The girl wished that she was not hungry (expressing regret)
  6. The girl wished that she had some food to eat (expressing regret)
  7. If the girl had eaten some food, she would not have been hungry (second conditional)
  8. If she had not been hungry, she would not have cried (second conditional)
  9. The girl should have eaten some food earlier (fault)
  10. The girl shouldn’t have felt so hungry that hunger made her cry (fault)

 

You will notice that in some of the sentences the words too, so, such are highlighted to show contrast.

Good luck with your English language practice.

Leave a Reply

