CAUSE AND EFFECT – BECAUSE

This is an English language lesson to practice using the conjunction ‘Because’ to express cause and effect.

In each sentence, there is one cause and one effect.

This is the basic example:

The boy came home late because he missed the bus.  (Missing the bus is the cause of the boy being late.  Being late is the effect of missing the bus)

There are thirty sentences to practice.  The sentences are paired together (sentences 1 and 2 work together, as do sentences 11 and 12)

Practice writing and speaking the following sentences to identify cause and effect.

Use the model format of the structure to write and speak your own sentences using ‘because’.

  • The dog barked because it heard a noise

 

  • The dog ran away because the gate was left open

 

  • The people were upset because the music was too loud

 

  • The music was loud because the volume was turned up

 

  • The room was very dirty because I didn’t clean it

 

  • I didn’t clean the room because I didn’t have a broom

 

  • Sally couldn’t come to the party because she was unwell

 

  • Sally was unwell because she ate too much food last night

 

  • I was late for school today because my alarm didn’t go off

 

  • My alarm didn’t go off because it was broken

 

  • The student got a low score in the test because he didn’t study enough

 

  • He didn’t study enough because he was lazy

 

  • I found the book because I searched for it (search is cause and found is effect)

 

  • I searched for the book because I needed it (search is cause and need is effect)

 

  • I couldn’t call you because the battery on my handphone was dead

 

  • The battery on my handphone was dead because I forgot to charge it last night

 

  • The girl cannot see because she is blind

 

  • The girl is blind because she lost her sight in a road accident

 

  • The children are hungry because they haven’t eaten dinner yet

 

  • They haven’t eaten dinner yet because their mother is still cooking it

 

  • I answered the question because I knew the answer

 

  • I knew the answer because I had studied the topic in school class

 

  • I bought the house because it was cheap

 

  • The house was cheap because it needs to be renovated

 

  • I learn English because it is important for my future

 

  • English is important for my future because I can get a good job

 

  • I study in school because I want to learn lots of things

 

  • I want to learn things because I want to be smart

 

  • I learnt how to drive because I want to have a car

 

  • I want to have a car because I can visit many places

 

This lesson will link with another which practices sentence structure for cause and effect when using the second conditional and ‘should have’ or ‘shouldn’t have’

Look out for the lesson.

Always speak up and build up your vocabulary.

Develop your confidence and awareness of the structure of the sentences.

Good luck with your English language practice.

 

Leave a Reply

