WHAT DO YOU WANT?

This is an English language lesson to practice the phrase ‘I want to’ about things you want to do.

I will first give examples and then expand with further examples of each sentence structure.

First of all note the following pairs of words which can be easily misunderstood when they are spoken.

ride/read                                  wash/watch                 want/won’t (will not)

 

I want to ride a bicycle

I want to read a book

I want to fly a kite

I want to make a cake

I want to watch the sunset

I want to wash my hands

I want to close the door

I want to play a game

I want to catch a train

I want to tell you a story

 

Now let’s expand the examples for each sentence structure

I WANT TO RIDE

I want to ride a bicycle

I want to ride a motor bike

I want to ride a horse

I want to ride a camel

I want to ride an elephant

I want to ride a donkey

I want to ride an elevator

I want to ride a skateboard

I want to ride a see-saw

I want to ride a rollercoaster

I WANT TO READ

I want to read a book

I want to read a comic

I want to read a magazine

I want to read a letter

I want to read the instructions

I want to read your mind

I want to read the palm of your hand (fortune telling)

I WANT TO WASH

I want to wash my hands

I want to wash my face

I want to wash the dishes

I want to wash my father’s car

I want to wash my clothes

I want to cleanse my mind (in this example it is not possible to use the word ‘wash’ but the mind can be cleaned (cleansed) of bad thoughts)

I WANT TO WATCH

I want to watch the sunset

I want to watch television

I want to watch a movie

I want to watch paint dry (an idiom)

I want to watch a football match

I want to watch a show

I WANT TO MAKE

I want to make a cake

I want to make a wish

I want to make a model plane

I want to make up a story

I want to make history

I want to make a speech

I want to make my parents proud of me

I don’t want to make a mistake

I don’t want to make an enemy

I WANT TO CLOSE

I want to close the door

I want to close the window

I want to close my eyes

I want to close my book

I want to close my Bank Account

I want to close the shop

I want to close the drinking bottle

I want to close the water tap

I WANT TO TELL YOU

I want to tell you a story

I want to tell you a secret

I want to tell you some information

I want to tell you something

I want to tell you the way to go

I WANT TO CATCH

I want to catch a train

I want to catch a flight

I want to catch a fish

I want to catch a butterfly

I want to catch up with you sometime

I don’t want to catch a cold

I WANT TO PLAY

I want to play a game

I want to play with my friends

I want to play up and be mischievous

I want to play in the park

I want to play the guitar

I WANT TO FLY

I want to fly a kite

I want to fly on a plane

I want to fly in a rocket

I want to fly like a bird

I want to fly to the moon

 

All of the above sentences should be practiced regularly and if possible memorised to achieve fluency in speaking English.

Leave a Reply

