A LITTLE BRIT OF THE BIG APPLE

This is an English language lesson about a marketing slogan I saw on a student’s tee-shirt a few weeks ago.

The slogan read  ‘a little Brit of the big Apple’.

Once I have written and published this lesson, I will attach a photo of the tee-shirt.

I find messaging on tee-shirts extremely interesting.

Rarely have I been moved by one slogan in particular to be motivated into turning it into a lesson.

On this occasion, I have been motivated.

The keywords to consider for this lesson are

BRIT               BIT                  BITE               BIG                 LITTLE

Keyword phrases are

TRUE GRIT                           A BIT              A LITTLE BIT

Allow me now to explain the thought process behind this lesson.

I am an Englishman.  That means I am English.

England is part of the union of countries (along with Scotland Ireland and Wales) which comprise Great Britain.

Actually, Great Britain is also called United Kingdom but never mind that for now.

As England is part of Great Britain, that means I am British as well as English.

People from Britain (or Great Britain if you so prefer) are often called just ‘Brits’

So that means I can call myself a Brit.

To be honest, if you can excuse my sense of humour, I like to call myself a true Brit.

A couple of centuries ago , perhaps more, in the reign of monarchs such as King James and King George, the union of Great Britain was formed.

Sailors set sail ‘across the pond’ (that’s the Atlantic Ocean by the way) to the new world we all know today as the United States of America.

Why did they do it?  Why did they risk their health for the unknown?

Plunder is the short and sweet answer and colonial conquest and the offer of what the new world could offer.

The British colonialised the new world ‘across the pond’ and those who had settled there decades before as well as indigenous folk such as indian tribes fought back to eventually gain independence for the one free country on the planet.

Do you see where I am coming from?

Take a look now at the picture of the apple above the slogan on the tee-shirt.

appletshirt 4

What do you see?

Yes, there are two parts to the apple.

One part of the apple is green and ripe and uneaten whereas the other half represents the Union Jack, the universally recognized flag of Great Britain.

Now we are getting to the ‘core’ of the lesson and every apple has a core, right?

Intrigueingly, the big bustling city of New York on the eastern seaboard of United States is commonly called ‘the Big Apple’.

Recently, the two new leaders of these two most friendliest of foes, Donald Trump and Mrs Teresa May, American President and British Prime Minister, have recently met in February 2017.

Now we can begin to understand both the meaning and importance of the phrase on the tee-shirt which reads ‘a little brit of the big apple’.

I suggest that the slogan infers that the British feel that they have never surrendered their supremacy over the American hinterland they had once colonised.

Let’s play with words and coin a number of phrases to practice our lesson to inteprete this ‘a little bit further’.

Our focus is on the phonics of big bit and brit.

Our focus is on the expressions of ‘a bit’ which means a little of something.

‘bit’ is the past simple tense of the verb ‘to bite’.

An apple is eaten.  We bite an apple.  It is bitten.

Bitten is the past participle of the verb.  Diligent students of English will know that.

Now for the expressions which I want you to practice.

A little Brit of the big apple

A bit of the big apple

I bit a bit of the big apple

I bit a little bit of the big apple

I am a big Brit

I am a big Brit who bit a little bit of the big apple

The big Brit bit a little bit of ther big apple

A bit of the big apple was bitten by the big Brit

A bit of the big apple was bitten by the Brit

I am a little bit of the big Brit who has bitten a little bit of the big apple.

And so endeth the lesson.

It’s good bye from me, the big Brit who has just bitten a little bit of the big apple.

Leave a Reply

