A WOMAN I LOVE

She does not enter my world

And she is not a part of my life.

She is just a simple stupid girl

Who I took one day as my wife.

 

She is but a figment of my imagination

And our souls have never met.

She is the endless ocean of my desparation

And the magnitude of my debt.

 

She is just a wonderful vision I once saw

With eccentric, exciting, impossible eyes.

A woman, if not a girl i could completely adore

As a deserving sexual prize.

 

But she does not know my route

Or have any sense of my direction.

She is the passive prostitute,

Not offering any tenderness or affection.

 

True love is not something to be bought

Or barted for in heartless negotiation.

Forgive that she does not know that solitary thought

Which leads to our physical separation.

 

She is but a silent shadow

And a ghostly apparition in my life.

Who is she?  Who is SHE? I do not know.

The woman I love is not my wife.

 

And yet this is a woman I dearly love

With every element of my being.

But all of this, all of it, it is not enough

To compensate the feeling.

 

In her I have placed the greatest trust

That a man can render to another.

She is the unwelcome recipient of my lust

But sad though I say it, she is not my lover.

 

I have no idea now what time it is

Or if darkness will fade into day.

But the yearning for her kindest kiss

Will not go away.

 

This is my oasis,

The pain I must continue to suffer.

Such an existence as this,

Is there not another?

 

The moment it seems cannot be found

To bridge the great divide.

Two people are together by duty bound

But they are on the opposite side.

 

Tears now roll down my cheeks

Is a man allowed no shame to cry?

For days that are longer than calendar weeks,

I will love her till the day I die.

 

And if these words were never written,

Then she would never know,

So much is unknown, so much is hidden.

If it were not for the glow of the Moon Shadow.

Leave a Reply

