PARTICIPLE ADJECTIVES ENDING -ED AND -ING

This is an English language lesson about Participle Adjectives.

A Participle adjective is a verb ending in –ed or in –ing.

Adjectives ending –ed describe feelings.

Adjectives ending – ing describe places, things or activities

In the examples given, we have listed verbs alphabetically with reference to both the base verb and the core noun.

The keywords of the lesson are highlighted in bold.

Enjoy the lesson!

AMAZE (AMAZEMENT)

I was amazed to hear Sally got married last month.

It was amazing to hear the news about Sally.

BORED (BOREDOM)

I was bored by the film.

It was a boring film.

I feel bored (correct).  I feel boring (incorrect)

I am boring (correct but describes yourself negatively and with different meaning)

CONFUSE (CONFUSION)

I am confused which way to go

The directions on the map are very confusing

DEPRESSED (DEPRESSION)

I feel quite depressed today

The weather is depressing today

DISAPPOINT (DISAPPOINTMENT)

I am disappointed by the exam results

My exam results were disappointing

DISTURB (DISTURBANCE)

The loud noise was very disturbing

I was disturbed by the loud noise

EMBARRASS (EMBARRASSMENT)

That’s an embarrassing photo

I am really embarrassed by that photo

EXCITE (EXCITEMENT)

I’m so excited to go on holiday

It’s exciting to go on holiday

EXHAUST (EXHAUSTION)

The long journey was exhausting

I was exhausted by the long journey

FRIGHTEN (FEAR) (FRIGHTFULNESS)

I’m frightened of spiders

Spiders are frightening creatures

INSPIRE (INSPIRATION)

Your speech was very inspiring

I am very inspired by your speech

INTEREST

My Sister is interested in history

History is an interesting subject to study

RELAX (RELAXATION)

I feel totally relaxed now

It’s relaxing to be here now

SATISFY (SATISFACTION)

I am very satisfied with the result

The result was very satisfying

 

SURPRISE

I was surprised by the knock at the door

The knock at the door was very surprising

TERRIFY (TERROR)

The dog was terrified by the thunderstorm

The thunderstorm was terrifying to the dog

TIRE (TIREDNESS)

I felt very tired yesterday doing my work

The job yesterday was so tiring

WORRY

You look worried.  What’s wrong?

The future looks very worrying

 

 

Leave a Reply

