RIGHT ON TIME

This is an English language lesson which focuses on time and parts of the day.

The keywords are highlighted in bold.

It is important to be on time

The show begins on cue

I wake up at dawn

I go to school at seven o’clock in the morning

I go to school every morning except at weekends

I don’t go to school at weekends

I usually eat lunch at midday

I finish school classes at a quarter past three in the afternoon

I do my homework at half past four in the afternoon

I feed my pets at dusk

I eat dinner with my family at six o’clock in the evening

I brush my teeth twice a day, in the morning and at night

I go to bed at half past ten at night

I am usually fast asleep at midnight

The train to London leaves at seven oh five in the morning

This morning I feel unwell and will skip school

Tonight I will sleep early

On the stroke of midnight, a new day begins

I want to meet you at a quarter to two this afternoon

On weekdays, I must go to school

At weekends, I have free time to do what I like

Muslims fast during Ramadan between dawn and dusk

 

COMMENTS

The time is 3.15.  We can say three fifteen.  British English also say a quarter PAST three but American English will say a quarter AFTER three

The time is 4.05.  The zero and nought or nil are NOT used to express the number.  British English say four oh five or five PAST four whereas american English will say five AFTER four.

About Evening and Night.  Evening is considered to be from six o’clock until nine o’clock (even if it is not yet dark).  It is night from nine o’clock until midnight.

Midnight is also called 12 am but never 12pm.

Midday means the middle of the day between morning and afternoon.

Midday is also called Noon and 12pm but never 12am.

On the twenty-four hour clock, you can never say, for example, thirteen o’clock or fourteen o’clock but instead you must say one o’clock or two o’clock.

This Morning.  Just to point out that the ‘s’ from ‘this’ and ‘m’ from ‘morning’ become absorbed into one sound, so we say the two words together as Thismorning rather than as two separate words.

There are occasions when the two words are spoken separately (for example – on this morning) will be pronounced as three separate words.

As a final summary, keep these phrases in mind and regularly practice them.

In the morning                        In the afternoon          In the evening

At dawn                      At dusk

On weekdays              At weekends

On time                       On cue                         On schedule

Midnight                     Midday                       Noon

 

Enjoy the lesson!

 

 

Leave a Reply

