TEACH MY CHILD ENGLISH PLEASE!

Teach my child English please!  That is the call I often hear and that is what this language lesson is about.

The numbers are down for students signing up to learn English as a second language at a language school.  Why is this?

I am the parent of two children aged eight and twelve and I would like them to learn English because I believe knowing English will give them better opportunities for their life.

I want to share on this forum some of the problems and difficulties which I am experiencing.

First of all, let’s talk money.  I am not rich, so the language school which I want my children to attend must be affordable within a budget but not necessarily cheap and cheerful.

I would expect my children to be taught by a native speaker as well as by a local speaker who is skilled and qualified to each English.

There is a trend towards using technology in teacher instruction, especially powerpoint presentation, i-pads and electronic whiteboards and the abandonment of traditional textbooks.

I consider the trend to be fanciful and it may suit the teacher but not always the learning skills of the student.

I must think about the classroom environment which is nor always user-friendly with cramped conditions and uncomfortable chairs.

I have concerns about the choice of textbooks and the dullness of some of the material which negatively affects the motivation of the student to learn English and to attend classes regularly and punctually.

The teaching of English is a very competitive business and the right school for learning English must be chosen wth care.

The idea of giving my children the opportunity to learn English in a paid extra-curricular school is to enhance the basic English they learn in a State school from Monday to Friday.

But therein lies a conflict as the demands of normal school activities, homework and examinations are justifiably prioritized over demands placed upon a sdtudent and a parent by an English language school.

The teachers whom i have met, both locasl and native, are never less than helpful and friendly but I have to question the effectiveness of their teaching methods and whether the material being used is compatible with learning expectations.

Language schools are often seen as ‘glorified Kids clubs’after school or as a fashion trend not borne out of a real need to learn English.  If the perceived market of the Language School is middle to lower class, it is unlikely that the students will have an interest or proficiency in English compatible with a realistic desire to study, live, work or take vacation in an English speaking country or undertake an English proficiency test such as Toefl or Ielts.

I think the numbers are down in students signing up to study English at Language Courses because parents and students are skeptical that they are not offering value for money.

I am continuing to shop around for the best language school in my area which suits the needs of my children to learn English.

All I want is for someone to teach my children English the way I believe it should be taught in such a way that  respects the culture custom and tradition of my country as well as giving my children the opportunity to embrace the English language with all its modern practices for that better future.

 

 

3 thoughts on “TEACH MY CHILD ENGLISH PLEASE!

  1. ӏt іs the best time tto make some planns for the fᥙture and it’s time
    tto bee happy. I’ve read this ρost and if I could I desire to sugɡеst yߋu few interestіng things or tips.
    Ꮲerhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to reаɗ even moгe things about it!

    Like

  2. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content from
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired
    me to get my own, personal site now 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

