REMEMBER

REMEMBER

 

This is an English language lesson to practice using the word ‘Remember’ with a gerund and with an infinitive.

USING  ‘REMEMBER’  WITH A GERUND

Remember + a Gerund means that you did something and you can recall the action

I remember talking to you last night.

I remember crying as a child

I remember going on holiday

I don’t remember being born

I remember seeing the robber enter the bank

I don’t remember watching that movie

 

USING ‘REMEMBER’ WITH AN INFINITIVE

Ths means that you have a plan to do something.  This is likely to be used in questions or instructions.

Did you remember to lock the door?

Remember to buy some groceries at the supermarket

Remember to tie your shoelaces

Did you remember to finish your homework?

Remember to feed the cat before going to school

Did your remember your grandmother’s birthday?

Remember to call me when you arrive

Notice that the question uses DID and not DO, so the question is asked in the past tense.

Look at the following sentences and decide which are the correct answers

EXAMPLE ONE

  1. Did you remember switching off the light?
  2. Did you remember to switch off the light?
  3. Do you remember switching off the light?

a/c        b/c       a

EXAMPLE TWO

  1. I remember to see this movie
  2. I remember to see the movie
  3. I remember seeing the movie

b/c       a/b       a

EXAMPLE THREE

  1. Remember to open the window
  2. Do you remember to open the windows?
  3. Did you remember to open the windows?

a/c        b/c       c

EXAMPLE FOUR

  1. Remember going to the shop
  2. Do you remember to go to the shop?
  3. Do you remember going to the shop?

a/c        b/c       a

EXAMPLE FIVE

  1. I don’t remember meeting him
  2. I don’t remember to meet him
  3. I can’t remember meeting him

a/c        b/c       a/b

2 thoughts on “REMEMBER

  1. I just could not go away your site before suggesting that I really loved the standard information an individual provide for your visitors?
    Is going to be back often in order to inspect new posts

    Like

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The
    text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured
    I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

