APOLOGY REASON RESPONSE PROMISE

This lesson takes a look at saying sorry.

Four things must happen when we say sorry.

they are apology, reason, response and promise/make amends.

Adverbs are commonly used to emphasize our apology.

The most common adverbs are so, very, really, sincerely, terribly and extremely.

APOLOGIES

Please forgive me for not coming to the meeting

I’m sorry I’m late

I must apologize for what I did wrong

I’d like to apologize

Allow me to apologize

REASONS/EXCUSES

I forgot the time

I missed my train

I was ill

The dog ate it

I have been so busy lately

RESPONDING TO AN APOLOGY

Don’t worry about it

Better late than never

It doesn’t matter

That’s okay.  Just forget it ever happened

I quite understand.

I suggest you do a task to make amends

That’s all right.  No big deal.  No harm is done.

Accidents happen.  It can’t be helped

You need to make it up.  I will deduct the cost from your pocket money

Apology accepted.

Don’t do it again.  Don’t let it happen again

It’s too late to apologize

PROMISES/MAKE AMENDS

It won’t happen again

I won’t do it again

I’ll be more careful next time

I’ll do it right now

I’ll turn over a new leaf

 

Let us took at three different scenarios with teacher, mother and best friend.  There are two examples for each scenario

THE TEACHER

EXAMPLE 1

APOLOGY                I’m so sorry Sir I can’t hand in the homework

REASON                    I forgot to do the homework last night

RESPONSE                All right.  Do it later and give it to me tomorrow morning

PROMISE                  Yes, I will do that.  Thank you Sir

 

EXAMPLE 2

APOLOGY                I’m really sorry I’m late to class this morning Miss

REASON                    I missed the bus to school

RESPONSE                It’s not the first time.  It’s unacceptable behaviour.  Stay behind after   class time finishes for detention

PROMISE                  Yes I will do that Miss

 

THE MOTHER

EXAMPLE 1

APOLOGY                I’m very sorry Mum, I haven’t tidied my room yet

REASON                    I have only just arrived home from school

RESPONSE                All right.  I understand.  Do it now or you can’t go to the cinema later

PROMISE                  Ok Mum.  I will do it right away

 

EXAMPLE 2

APOLOGY                I’m terribly sorry Mum, I broke the window when I kicked the football

REASON                    It wasn’t my fault.  There was a strong wind to blow the ball

RESPONSE                Never mind that!  I will have to deduct the cost of the new window from your pocket money

PROMISE                  Oh No Mum!

 

THE BEST FRIEND

EXAMPLE 1

APOLOGY                I’m really sorry John.  I can’t come to your birthday party

REASON                    I have a lot of homework to do

RESPONSE                Oh that’s too bad.  Never mind but I still want a present though

PROMISE                  Of course, you’re my best friend.  I will buy you a present anyway

 

EXAMPLE 2

APOLOGY                I’m so sorry John.  I took your pencil by mistake

REASON                    I didn’t know it was yours

RESPONSE                It doesn’t matter.  No big deal.  I have another one

PROMISE                  Thanks John.  I will make it up to you later

 

 

Leave a Reply

