PLACING A FOOD ORDER

This is a conversation between a waiter or waitress and a customer who places a food order while sitting at the table.

This is the third lesson in the Restaurant Series.  The series is”

  1. Telephone to make a Table Reservation at the Restaurant
  2. Arriving to the Restaurant
  3. Placing a food order (this lesson)
  4. Paying the bill
  5. Leaving or giving a Feedback to the restaurant
  6. Describe a restaurant
  7. Eating out at a restaurant
  8. Complaint letter to a restaurant

There is two conversations for the same thing.

CONVERSATION 1 – incorrect and amusing

CONVERSATION 2 – correct and the model you would usually follow in a restaurant

KEYWORD PHRASES

In this conversation the following expressions are practiced

I’d like                                    (I would like)

I’ll go                          (I will go)

That’ll be                     (That will be)

  1. is for Customer and W for Waiter (man) or Waitress (woman)

CONVERSATION 1

W                    Are you ready to order?

C                     Yes I am.  I’m VERY hungry.

W                    What would you like THEN?

C                     I’D LIKE a meatball mountain mushroom pizza PLEASE

W                    Any toppings?

C                     Yep.  Loads of cheese, onions and pineapple PLEASE

W                    Anything else?

C                     Oh yes.  I’d like a plate of french fries and a green salad as well (shouted)

W                    All right.NO NEED TO SHOUT.  KEEP YOUR HAIR ON!

C                     If you say so.  I;m cool.

W                    Anything to drink?

C                     Hmmmm.  I’d like a vanilla milkshake please.  NO added sugar!

W                    Health junkie huh?  Ok got it.  Is that all?

C                     Yes.  How much is it?

W                    THAT’LL BE Twenty four dollars and thirty three cents.

C                     Shall I pay NOW?

W                    No, OF COURSE NOT.  Pay at the end when I GIVE you the BILL.

  1. Will the pizza be LONG?

W                    No.  I’m sorry.  Pizza aren’t long.  They’re ROUND.

C                     I know.  I mean, how long will it be before I get the pizza?

W                    CAN’T YOU SEE we’re busy?  About twenty minutes.

C                     OH I SEE..  Great.  Thank you.

W                    No. Problem.  DON’T mention it.  I’LL GO and place your order

C                     HURRY UP THEN.  I’m waiting

 

NOTES FOR CONVERSATION 1

‘Keep your hair on’ is an idiom to describe when someone gets angry or raises their voice.

The words typed in capital letters should be strongly emphasized for fun and speaking practice.

 

CONVERSATION 2

This is the same conversation as Conversation 1 except this is how it SHOULD BE spoken in a restaurant.

W                    Are you ready to order?

C                     Yes I am.  I’m very hungry.

W                    What would you like?

C                     I’d  a meatball mountain mushroom pizza please

W                    Any toppings?

C                     Yes.  Cheese, onions and pineapple please

W                    Anything else?

C                     Oh yes.  I’d like a plate of french fries and a green salad as well.

W                    All right. That’s fine.  Anything to drink?

C                     Hmmmm.  I’d like a vanilla milkshake please.  No added sugar though.

W                    Sounds good.   Ok got it.  Is that all?

C                     Yes.  How much is it?

W                    That’ll be Twenty four dollars and thirty three cents.

C                     Shall I pay now?

W                    No need.   You can pay at the end when I give you the bill

  1. All right. Will the food be long?

W                    Not too long.  About twenty minutes.

C                     Oh I see…  Great.  Thank you.

W                    No. Problem.  Don’t mention it.  I’ll go and place your order

C                     Thank you.

W                    Here’s a complimentary mineral water while you’re waiting.

C                     That’s very kind of you.  Thank you.

 

NOTES FOR CONVERSATION 2

As you can see, the expressions which were used for emphasis and amusement in conversation 1 have been removed and the conversation overall is more formal.

At the end of the conversation, the customer is offered a complimentary mineral water before waiting for the ordered food and drink to come.

Good luck with the practice of conversations 1 and 2.

Leave a Reply

