STORY OF A NEWSPAPER DELIVERY BOY

This is the simple but evocative story of a newspaper boy.

Delivering newspapers was the first job i ever had.

It was a part-time job delivering newspapers after school.

In England, there remains a demand in spite of a modern trend to access news from the internet, for a provincial evening newspaper.

Mine was the Coventry Evening Telegraph.

I was thirteen years old and I did the newspaper round for nearly two years until I left school and got a full-time job.

When I got home from school at half-past four each day, it was my responsibility to organize the newspapers and prepare for my ‘round’.

I delivered to about sixty houses and in all weathers on my second-hand improvised bicycle.

The provincial evening newspaper was a different from the national daily with the type of news it published.

Since I was a kid, I had always had an interest in journalism and in newspapers generally.

My hobby was keeping a scrapbook of eye-catching news stories in all the newspapers and football magazines such as ‘Shoot’ and ‘Goal’.

I imitated the likes of Kenneth Wolstenholme and David Coleman as a football commentator and I used to write up my own football reports of matches that I watched.

As a fifteen year old, I interviewed with a cassette tape recorder famous sporting personalities such as Jimmy Hill, Ernie Hunt and Willie Carr who lived not far from my home

‘Match of the Day’ on a Saturday evening was the lifeblood of every football fan in England.

Coventry City, alias the Sky Blues, were the football team in the city of Coventry and it was the football team which I supported.

The late Jimmy Hill was an important personality for both Coventry City Football Club and TV Sports broadcasting.

Being a newspaper boy was a job like no other.  I got to know the inside stories and be inspired to become a writer.  I met the customers who bought the newspapers.  I visited the offices of Coventry Evening Telegraph to see how the newspapers themselves were printed and published.

Newspaper delivery boys like me were genuinely appreciated by the company who employed us.

This was only a part-time job of course and the income was not much for the six days (monday to Saturday) when it was my job to deliver the papers.

But it was enough to finance buying new trousers and shirt for my first date with a girl and going to watch Coventry City play at their home Highfield Road stadium on Saturday afternoons.

The whole experience of being a newspaper delivery boy taught me about financial responsibility and would inspire me to be a writer and a vocalist of news topic, especially today through social media and the itnernet generally, if not as a professional journalist.

The would-be journalist became a lawyer and later on in life a teacher but the newspaper delivery boy remains very much within his heart and soul and the memories of that first job can never ever be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

