BEFORE OR AFTER

This is an English language lesson aimed at elementary and junior high school students who are learning English as a second language.

In this lesson, we will practice speaking, writing and reading sentences using the two conjunctions of ‘before’ and ‘after’.

Examples are mixed up and not intended to follow a particular pattern.

Notice how we use the past simple and present continious as alternative ways to make sentences using both ‘before’ and ‘after’.

Also take notice that the two phrases which compose each sentence can be reversed.

Here we go!

  1. I always have breakfast BEFORE going to work.
  2. BEFORE going to work, I always have breakfast.
  3. I went home AFTER taking the exam.
  4. AFTER taking the exam, I went home.
  5. The cat ran out AFTER I opened the door
  6. The cat ran out AFTER opening the door
  7. AFTER opening the door, the cat ran out.
  8. BEFORE I went to the party, I bought my friend a present
  9. BEFORE going to the party, I bought my friend a present
  10. I bought my friend a present BEFORE going to the party
  11. She called her best friend AFTER turning on her cellphone.
  12. She called her best friend AFTER she turned on her cellphone
  13. AFTER turning on her cellphone, she called her best friend
  14. She called her best friend BEFORE leaving the house
  15. She called her best friend BEFORE she left the house
  16. BEFORE eating dinner, I washed my hands
  17. BEFORE I ate dinner, I washed my hands
  18. I washed my feet BEFORE praying at the mosque.
  19. I washed my feet BEFORE i prayed at the mosque.
  20. The man thought very carefully BEFORE answering the question
  21. The man thought very carefully BEFORE he answered the question
  22. BEFORE the man answering the question, he thought about it very carefully
  23. BEFORE he answered the question, he thought about it very carefully
  24. The boy looked left and right BEFORE crossing the road
  25. BEFORE crossing the road, the boy looked left and right.
  26. The woman forgot her change AFTER leaving the shop
  27. AFTER leaving the shop, the woman forgot her chang
  28. He took off his shoes AFTER arriving home.
  29. AFTER arriving home, he man took off his shoes.
  30. BEFORE leaving his house, the man put on his shoes.
  31. The man put on his shoes BEFORE he left his house.
  32. AFTER withdrawing money from the ATM, I went shopping
  33. AFTER I withdrew money from the ATM, I went shopping
  34. I went shopping AFTER withdrawing money from the ATM.
  35. BEFORE going shopping, I withdrew money from the ATM.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

