WHEN THE SAINTS GO MARCHING IN

This is a simple and very popular song to sing for all ages and right across the world.

It is believed to be an American christian gospel hymn from the beginning of the twentieth century and takes its source from the Book of Revelations in the Bible.

The words can be easily adapted to deflect religious reference and avoid offence to anyone.

It is a great song to learn and practice English.

The song originated in the deep south of the United States.

It has a strong association with jazz music and the city of New Orleans.

The song is the symbolic song for the New Orleans Saints (American) football team as well as many other sporting teams worldwide.

Louis Armstrong was the first person to record a musical version of the song with his jazz orchestra on 13th May 1938.

Others such as Fats Domino, Judy Garland and Elvis Presley would popularize the song for all time.

These are the verses of the song which I like to use in classroom teaching.  The order of the verses are, of course, interchangeable/

Here we go!

VERSE 1

Oh when the Saints.

Oh when the Saints.

Oh when the Saints go marching in,

I want to be in that number.

When the Saints go marching in.

Go – marching in.

Go – marching in.

I want to be in that number,

When the Saints go marching in.

 

VERSE 2

Oh when the sun.

Oh when the sun.

Oh when the sun begins to shine,

I want to be in that number,

When the sun begins to shine.

Begins – to shine.

Begins – to shine.

I want to be in that number,

When the sun begins to shine.

 

VERSE 3

Oh when Mr. Paul

Oh when Mr. Paul.

Oh when Mr. Paul comes to my class,

I want to be in that number,

When Mr. Paul comes to my class.

Comes to – my class.

Comes to – my class.

I want to be in that number,

When Mr Paul comes to my class.

 

VERSE 4

Oh when the stars.

Oh when the stars.

Oh when the stars fall from the sky,

I want to be in that number,

When the stars fall from the sky.

Fall from – the sky.

Fall from – the sky.

I want to be in that number,

When the stars fall from the sky.

 

Enjoy the Song and good luck in your practice of English!

One thought on “WHEN THE SAINTS GO MARCHING IN

Leave a Reply

