IF I LEARN ENGLISH

This is an English lesson focused on using the First Conditional and connects to the lesson ‘Compromise and Common Chores’

All sentences should be practiced for reading, writing and speaking.

We can say:

            If I learn English, I will speak English

            If you learn English, you will speak English

In the first example, you are talking about yourself in a personal way.

In the second example, you are not talking about yourself personally.

So let us explore possible responses in the first conditional using ‘If I learn English’.

  1. If I learn English, I will speak English
  2. If I learn English, I will be able to speak English
  3. If I learn English, I will speak English quite well
  4. If I learn English, I will be able to speak English fluently
  5. If I learn English, I will be more confident
  6. If I learn English, I will become a more confident person
  7. If I learn English, I will be smarter and more confident in my life
  8. If I learn English, I will be able to travel around the world
  9. If I learn English, I will be able to speak English in London
  10. If I learn English, I will have more opportunities for a better future
  11. If I learn English, I will be able to get a better job
  12. If I learn English, it will be easier to get a job
  13. If I learn English, I will have a brighter future
  14. If I learn English, I might marry a foreigner
  15. If I learn English, I could play football in the English Premier League
  16. If I learn English, I can meet more people in my life
  17. If I learn English, I may become a good linguist
  18. If I don’t learn English, I will have less opportunities in my life
  19. If I don’t learn English, it will not matter to me
  20. If I learn English, the world will become my oyster.

Examples 18 and 19 are both negatives sentences.

Not everyone wants to learn English.

Learning English does not help everyone.

Notice also that other modal verbs such as CAN SHOULD WOULD COULD MAY MIGHT can be used as well as WILL.

DO NOT CONFUSE the first conditional with the second or third conditional.

The key factor in using the First Conditional is that the expression is expressed in the present simple.

Remember also that first conditional sentences can be REVERSED.

‘The world will become my oyster IF I learn English’.

Practice the 20 sentences regularly to improve your speaking fluency and general comprehension.

THANK YOU.  I hope you have enjoyed the lesson.

 

Leave a Reply

