VOICEBOX MESSAGE

This is a great lesson to practice making a voicebox message and then replying to one.

In our example, we call the White House in Washington, United States and listen to the imaginary voicebox message of the American President.

It is very important to speak slowly and clearly if you are the person creating the voicebox message or the person leaving a message for the voicebox.

VOICEBOX MESSAGE OF BARRACK OBAMA

Hello, you have reached the voice box of Barrack Obama, the President of the United States of America.

I’m sorry.  I’m not available right now.  I’m in a meeting.

So please leave a message after the bleep and I will get back to you later.

Oh, I nearly forgot.  Please speak clearly slowly and in English.

 Thank you and Have a Good Day.

 

WHAT IS IMPORTANT IN THE VOICEBOX MESSAGE REPLY

These are the important things you must say when you leave a voicebox message:

  1. Who the message is for
  2. Who you are calling
  3. Name of the organization you represent
  4. Date and Time of your call
  5. Reason for your call
  6. State your telephone number
  7. Specify the action you want the recipient of your message to take

 

REPLY TO VOICEBOX OF THE AMERICAN PRESIDENT

This is a message for Barrack Obama, President of the United States.

My name is  Mr John Davidson and I am the Principal English Teacher of The Wonderful English International School in Indonesia

The time now is 11.30am on Tuesday Eleventh of November.

20 students from my school are visiting United States next month and are coming to Washington.

The students wish to take a tour of the White House during their visit.

I was wondering, can you give the students a personal tour of the White House please?

My number is ZERO EIGHT THREE TWO – FOUR THREE THREE FOUR – SIX EIGHT ONE TWO

I repeat – Zero eight Three Two.  Four Three Three Four.  Six Eight One Two.

Can you call me after 4pm today?  I shall be available to check my phone messages after that time.

Thank you Sir.

 

TRY creating a voicebox message and a reply to the following situations:

  1. Appointment to see the dentist
  2. Booking tickets with a travel agent to fly to England
  3. Calling the home of your best friend
  4. A problem at school or about school
  5. Looking for information from the English Tourist Office located in your city
Leave a Reply

