GERUNDS AND INFINITIVES

This lesson will help to explain and clarify when the Gerund ‘ing’ and the Infinitive with/without ‘to’ can be used correctly in simple sentences.

I like to swim. I like swimming. I go swimming on Saturdays.
Swimming is one of my hobbies and it’s healthy.
I like to sing and dance. I like singing and dancing.
I enjoy singing and dancing with my friends.
It’s important to learn English. Yes, learning English is very important.
I love to travel. I love travelling very much.
When I go travelling, I can see many interesting places.
I want to go around the world.
I want to be a doctor.
I want to make my parents proud of me.
I have a meeting now.
The meeting is about opening a Bank Account.
Having a Bank Account is necessary for everyone.
It’s necessary for everyone to have a Bank Account.
In fact, everyone should have a Bank Account.
We need a Bank Account to manage our money.
Anyway, it was a pleasure to meet you. Meeting you was a pleasure.
I look forward to meet you again. I look forward to meeting you again.
I can meet you again tonight. I could meet you sometime tomorrow.
I washed my hands before eating dinner.
I studied hard before taking the science exam.
I called you after arriving at the train station.
I was very excited after watching the movie.
I am thinking about visiting England during the school holidays.

Leave a Reply

