KARTINI

Good afternoon Ladies and Gentlemen.
My name is Sylvia Kartini the famous Indonesian celebrity.
It is my honor and privilege to talk to you today.
I want to talk to you about Education and the importance of learning at school.
As you know, I was born in Jepara Central Java in 1879.
I was one of eleven children.
I was lucky enough to go to school until I was 12 years old.
But not every child was so lucky.
I learnt the Dutch language as well as my native Indonesian and I made many friends and contacts
I had a dream. My dream was for every boy and girl to go to school and have the chance to learn to read and write.
In 1903 I met my Husband and I got married. He helped me set up a School in Rembang.
Sadly, just one year later, in 1903, I died in childbirth and I did not live to see my dream come true.
The Twenty First of April is my birthday.
As I finish my short speech, I want to say this to the people of Indonesia.
Thank you for celebrating my birthday every year and for remembering me so fondly.
Thank you for living my dream.

One thought on “KARTINI

Leave a Reply

